Wheel of Time News…

Hi there…

I thought this was interesting today… It’s been announced that what was to be the final book of Robert Jordan‘s Wheel of Time series, completed by Brandon Sanderson, has instead turned into a final three books. A Memory of Light is being broken into three volumes, the first of which will be released on November 3, 2009 as The Gathering Storm.

Now… This to me is starting to resemble a series by L. Ron Hubbard back in the mid-1980s called Mission Earth. And, like with Jordan’s series, it started strong and became convoluted and dragged out at the end. Though I’ve owned book 10 of Mission Earth for close to 15 years, I still haven’t read it. The last two of Jordan’s books are the same way… I have Knife of Dreams and New Spring on my shelf where they’ve been for the last few years. And I just can’t get back into it.

Perhaps Sanderson will breathe some new life into it. But the fact that they’ve chosen to split up Jordan’s final book into three doesn’t bode well for me. Will I purchase the books? Maybe.

How do you feel about this news? Any comments?


Reblog this post [with Zemanta]


  1. I’m right there with you. I have Knife of Dreams on my shelf and was waiting to pick up both New Spring & the final book together to jump back into the story. But now, 3 more books – AGH! I want to read the conclusion. Even though I haven’t read it in years, I still recall the books like I just put them down yesterday. I still say they should make a HBO-Showtime series out of it. That would rock!

    Reel Whores last blog post..The Horrific Truth Behind this True Story

  2. Last I heard they were talking about making the Eye of the World into a movie (it’s even listed as in development on IMDB) in 2011. We’ll see if that happens. I think the first 2 or three books would make amazing movies… After that…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.