The Smithereens Are Still the Bomb! New Live Album 5/27/2008

Hey all…

I had the good fortune of being sent an early copy of the Smithereens‘ new live album — Live At The Court – Greatest Hits and More — just last week. And all I can say is WOW… What an awesome album!

First of all I’m a huge Smithereens fan. As someone who went to high school in the 1980s and college in the late 80s/early 90s, I have to say that I listened to the Smithereens a lot. One of my favorite albums by them is Blown to Smithereens, their best of album released in 1995. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve played that album.

Songs like Blood & Roses, House We Used To Live In, Yesterday Girl, Top of the Pops, Miles from Nowhere and a ton of others have been part of the soundtrack of my life for many many years. So when I got an opportunity to review this new release from the Smithereens — I had to take it!

The new live album is to be released May 27, 2008, by Koch Records and is packed with great hits as well as two new songs — “Any Other Way” and “Since You Went Away” — and an awesome ride through the “Batman” theme. Eighteen tracks in all, which is an awesome ride. What blew me away was that they sound as amazing live on this CD as they do in their studio albums — and in my experience that just doesn’t happen too often!

Live at the Court was recorded at The Court over four nights from January 30 to February 2, 2008, in New Brunswick, New Jersey. The Court is sort of their musical home away from home and the band got to play for their hometown fans — definitely a treat for both band and fans!

Obviously the Smithereens have been putting out great music for 25 years, which is incredible. And they’ve been touring pretty much non stop while recording their multiple God and Platinum albums.

The album has 18 tracks —

  1. Wall of Sleep
  2. Drown in My Own Tears
  3. Miles from Nowhere
  4. Room Without a View
  5. Only a Memory
  6. House We Used to Live In
  7. Spellbound
  8. Since You Went Away (New Song)
  9. She’s Got a Way
  10. Yesterday Girl
  11. Well Alright
  12. Especially for You
  13. Any Other Way (New Song)
  14. Top of the Pops
  15. Time and Time Again
  16. Blood and Roses
  17. Girl Like You
  18. Batman

I have to say I was hooked from the beginning of track 1 until the end of track 18 and have listened to it about 4 times in its entirety since receiving the CD. 🙂

Great album for Smithereens fans everywhere!

Be sure to look for it on May 27, 2008 when it’s released!

Until next time — keep finding, playing, and listening to great music!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.